negroni

Man, it feels good to be sewing again!  So good, in fact, that I was willing to sew something for someone else!

IMG_4539I visited G Street last month right before some groupons expired, and since they had little selection for what I wanted, I had Mr. Nice pick out some flannel for a shirt.  I used Negroni by Collette – good pattern, I really liked it and now that I made some adjustments, I’ll definitely be making more.  Four years ago I made him a shirt (WHOA do I know a lot more now) from a Big-4 pattern and it was terrible, I had to make so many adjustments.

IMG_4544Mr. Nice gave me one of his best-fitting shirts to compare sizing, so I made some adjustments:

  • I added 2 inches to the length of the sleeves, and narrowed them by about 1 1/2 inches
  • I cut a L in the chest, then tapered down to a M at the waist
  • Due to the changes in the sleeves and chest, I ended up adjusting the armholes and giving a little bit of a sloping shoulder adjustment

I think it worked, because he approved.

IMG_4542I washed this flannel three times before cutting because I was so worried about shrinkage.  The resulting fabric was SO STRETCHY AND SHIFTY.  Cutting was tricky and I ended up doing neurotic pinning to line up the plaids.  I also had to tame my gorilla fingers to not pull and tug.  The result?  Hands up!  Plaid matching time!!

IMG_4549Not bad, right?  I’m really happy with how it turned out, and I love how the flat-felled seams and bias-cut pockets and flaps looked and I LOVED the cuffs and plackets.

IMG_4545Maybe the man will make more frequent blog appearances now!

10 thoughts on “negroni

  1. Highly impressed with check matching! I’ve got this pattern but yet to make it for my sweetie (I’ve just bought myself time making him a hawaiian shirt though).

    • A Hawaiian shirt?! Fancy. I hope you like the pattern when you get to it, I know I’ll use it a bunch and will probably try the short sleeve version too.

    • Thank you! Well, very few others earn the privilege of receiving a handmade item (besides babies, aren’t we all suckers for them?), so I don’t know how admirable I am 🙂

    • Thanks! I know, men’s patterns are rare, but I’m thinking of trying the Jedediah pants (is that what they’re called) that are floating around the internets. Men’s clothes, in some ways are much easier, and I think I’d rather have my first attempt at pants be hipless, you know?

  2. Wow, it looks amazing! It seems to fit perfectly and yay for matching plaid! A skill I have yet to master… love it and he seems to too!

    • Thanks! He’s worn it like 4-5 times already, and thoughtfully wore it when we visited my mom so I could show it off to her 🙂

  3. This is SO GOOD! The plaid is expertly matched and the seams look very professional. So I will give you the big-DIY-citizen-compliment (that actually doesn’t make sense thanks to global commerce) and say…”it’s so good you should sell them!” 😉

Leave a Reply

