geometry mitts

Did you know I knit?IMG_4274Apparently I almost forgot – it’s been a while… but I’ve had the idea for these mitts in my head for a couple years now.  In fact, I bought the yarn for them last September in Portland, OR at Happy Knits.

IMG_4271I love geometric patterns but I have no idea where this came from – I think one of those things that just pops! into your head.  I sketched it out on graph paper and test-swatched it several times – I like them overall, but as a functional knit project they’re a little tricky when you have 3-4 yarns going at the same time.

IMG_4262My other complaint is that I don’t think the yarn colors provide enough contrast.  Don’t use neutrals, right?  Yes, I know, but I love neutrals.  However, the gray and beige seem too close in tone – although in bright light it’s not too bad.

IMG_4291These are knit flat and seamed up the side with a hole for the thumb and the yarn is Jamieson’s Shetland Spindrift.  I had sort of hoped these would be something I could write up and sell a pattern of, but they are a little crazy in the middle there to knit, like I said, and my knits have never drawn as much interest as sewing, so I don’t know if anyone would be interested.  Either way, I think they will get some fall use out of me, but winter might be too cold.

IMG_4296Hopefully I’ll have some sewing soon… I’ve lost my sewing mojo recently and there’s a lot  of [good] stuff going on in Casa Nice lately so I have been a bit distracted…

p.s.  It probably won’t be up much longer, but look whose Belladone is up on the main banner on Kollabora (hang in there, it’s like 4th or 5th on the slide show)!!  I forgot to mention that they had my polymer beads up there recently too, AND on their blog they have posted both my Lakeside pajamas AND my Bombshell.  Kollabora, I sure do love you!

10 thoughts on “geometry mitts

  1. Oh, they’re so pretty! I love the geometric pattern! I was wondering when you would get back to knitting. It’s funny with these hobbies, isn’t it. Sometimes you get a rush of motivation and love to make one thing after the next and then you don’t look at your sewing table for weeks…at least that’s how it is for me 🙂

    • Thank you! That’s exactly what its like – I guess I haven’t been inspired lately, but then when I get something I want do, exactly, there’s a flurry of sewing. Hopefully soon!

  2. I think they’re great – warm, cozy, and the neutral colors make them look particularly sheepy. I’ve never tried it, so I don’t know how much work it would be, but I can see these getting quite a bit of interest if they were a pattern.

    • Thanks – the wool is actually quite sheepy, kind of raw until you block them. I would love it if there was an interest in a pattern… We’ll see!

    • Thank you! I think I will make it a goal to write up the pattern – unfortunately it just might take a little while….

Leave a Reply

