yarn csa

I haven’t bought new yarn in AGES, but some yarn I bought a year ago just arrived…. IMG_2965

… six skeins (1200 yards) of yarn from my share of the Fall 2012 CSA at Juniper Moon Farm.

I’ve struggled for years now over the use of wool and the possibility of humane options and and although I’m getting closer, I have to say I’m still struggling a great deal.  But, about a year ago, I bought a share in the world’s first yarn CSA from a no-kill farm whose animals live out their natural lives and are never eaten.  It is of course still a business, but pretty cool one as businesses go; I would like to go down to Palmyra, VA one day to check it out.

That is all I am going to say on that subject – I’m not looking for a debate or argument.  This is just something personal for me and I am in no way judging or saying what anyone else should do.  I’m sure I’ve permanently lost a few of my very few readers at this point, because I’ve stopped reading blogs due to certain personal opinions, but it is what itIMG_2958 is.

Well, back to the yarn, because my next task is… dyeing!!  I ordered mine undyed and am going to try to dye it myself (!)…. which I have never done before.  Boring as I am, I’ve been wanting a gray cardigan for a while, and love gray, and, so, will be dyeing this gray.  I’ve been reading Hand Dyeing Yarn and Fleece by Gail Callahan and I’m psyched to try it – does anyone have advice and/or recommend a certain type of dye?

This yarn smells strongly of the farm and has to stay locked up because the cats…

love

it.

IMG_2969

IMG_2970

IMG_2973

IMG_2974

IMG_2975

OK the cats are taking over this blog!  Enough!  I promise.

8 thoughts on “yarn csa

  1. That is so cool! I’ve never heard of a yarn CSA but it definitely makes me want to check it out.

    As people who sew, we are very much aware (or at least more aware) of some of the process of how our clothes get made, and I do think material sourcing is something a lot of us really do care about! Thank you for sharing, and I think you’ll find more readers who are interested in where and how you get your material, not less!

    • I know, it’s really cool, right?

      You make a good point – I should give more credit to the people that care, of course. I guess I get apprehensive about backlash, but I shouldn’t!

  2. OMG, your cat is so cute 🙂 mine will totally love anything that smells interesting too and play with it and rub their heads on it, cats are just the cutest. Though I have to say mine is particularly into smelly old shoes… Love the CSA yarn! I tried finding yarn from local sheep a few years back and it’s almost impossible, I found out that fleece from local sheep is usually burned around here!

    • Thank you! I’m pretty smitten with him as you can tell. They do something hilarious every day. That is terrible that the fleece is burned although I guess if the sheep aren’t bred for their fleece its supposedly not knit-worthy :-[

  3. This is great on many levels. Regardless of fiber type/ animal welfare, it’s good to know that your yarn is being made to sustainable standards. Cotton is a huge reason for pesticides, and cotton farming around the world is very destructive. I’m also a big fan of the animal welfare aspect of this. My husband is vegan, and as of yet has declined any wool sources I’ve suggested (my favorite is thrifting).

    The CSA would be a wonderful and classy gift. Thanks for the tip!

    • Glad to pass along this resource. I am vegan in just about every other way but have a hard time giving up knitting, so I certainly was considering this as a compromise. And that’s a good point you make about cotton farming, I hadn’t thought of that.

Leave a Reply

